Miniature Flourless Tahini Cookies

 

It’s 11:22 and I’m tired. After a long weekend of celebration in Charleston, I had a few days to myself before heading to Orlando for a week at the Surf Expo. And tomorrow? Right to Abaco Island. I can already taste the conch ceviche. That’s a partial lie. I want to pretend like I feel like I’m on vacation, but the day has been spent scrambling to get ready for what will be an effortlessly uncomplicated trip. A couple sun dresses, my grandmother’s oversized straw sun hat, and a bag full of bikinis is an accurate summary of what fills my one carry on bag.

The thing is I like to plan ahead, which means snacks, and lots of them. Luckily I hit Whole Foods on my way back from Orlando and scored everything from raw cocoa granola to a banana date tea bread. While this is a vacation, I’d rather see it as a health getaway. A week of diving, surfing, riding bikes, and swimming all over the island are my activities of choice. Sitting on the beach with a cocktail all week just never did it for me.

And even now I can’t quite relax, mainly because I always feel like I need to be doing something. I should be doing fill-in-the-blank rather than skipping out of town. I should be working on my recipes, narrowing my career goals, starting up some kind of business, saving the world one healthy baked good at a time and so on. There’ll be plenty of time for all that when I get home next Saturday. As soon as I get back, I’ll be in the kitchen remaking a chewy little gem I haven’t been able to get off my mind. It’s a flourless tahini cookie that is rich and nutty with sesame flavor, the size of a quarter and has the ideal crisp exterior and soft interior. One of my favorite elements of this cookie is that it was made with sourwood honey. It yields a pale gray amber color I had never seen prior to opening the jar. I brought the batch with me to the surf expo and they disappeared quickly. Within an hour of posting the photo on Instagram, people were already asking me for the recipe. So at the midnight hour, I’m posting this before I disappear for the week. I’ll be logging off from all technology, remembering what it was like before cell phones and lap tops.

Miniature Flourless Tahini Cookies loosely adapted from Whole Foods

1/2 cup tahini

4 tbsp sourwood honey

1 egg

splash vanilla extract

1/2 cup sugar

sugar, cocoa powder, and white sesame seeds for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix together sugar, cocoa powder, and white sesame seeds on a plate and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine tahini, honey and vanilla. Beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the egg. Once the egg is incorporated, add the sugar and mix until a dough forms. Roll balls of dough the size of walnuts. Drop the dough ball onto the plate of the sugar mixture and roll it around until it’s completely coated. Place on the baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes and let the cookies cool completely on the pan.

Yields about 24 miniatures.

 

Leave a Reply

